I've just recently bought the domain name clairejulia.net for my baby daughter. I'm not a big fan of people using .com as it implies they're a corporation, also for individuals a .co.uk suffix suggests they're a UK company. Thus, I prefer .net for individuals (despite it originally being for network infrastructures). To me, clairejulia.net implies "Claire Julia on the Internet". Actually, I think ICANN should release .web for personal URLs, but that's another story.
So, this week I received a SPAM email from a Dan Kagan of Domains Alert Service informing me that his company have "acquired" clairejulia.com for their company's "development plans", but as the owner of clairejulia.net they would allow me the "opportunity to acquire" it from them for $99.
Clearly, this company scours the domain registries searching for domains where there are are other TLD variations available, then snap them up and hold them to ransom.
Well, I don't want to respond to this email and thus encourage his spamming, so in case Daniel Kagan is ever egosurfing, here's my response:
Dear Daniel
Stick clairejulia.com up your f*cking arse you cybersquatting, blackmailing, scum-sucking, bottom-feeding, spamming c*nt.
I hope your low-rent business fails and you lose everything.
Kind regards
The owner of clairejulia.net
There's no word to describe such a great masterpiece. You made such an interesting piece to read, giving every subject an enlightenment for us to gain knowledge and information without any arguments to deal with. Thank you very much and more power!
Posted by: android app developers | June 06, 2011 at 16:54
I admire the way you express yourself through writing. Your post is such a refreshing one to read. This is such an interesting and informative article to share with others. Keep up the good work and more power. Thanks!
Posted by: loans till payday | June 06, 2011 at 16:52
Hello. Its nice to read some post about this nowadays. Its meaningful and somehow sharing this to readers like me, makes me want to surf the web to be able to get more wonderful ideas.Thank you for posting this.
Posted by: oakland security systems | December 14, 2010 at 15:59
To all who have received an e-mail from this cyber squatting spammer, a little bit of justice, albeit a tad immature perhaps. But hey, I was on vacation and needed something to do!
Best Regards,
www.domainalertservice.net
Posted by: DC | July 22, 2008 at 06:16
Came here by a google search for Dan Kagan - You made my day, thanks for that. :)
Posted by: Sandybutt | July 17, 2008 at 10:39
I have received an email from this prick aswell and ofcourse filed a complaint at eNom.
Posted by: lewus | July 16, 2008 at 17:54
Two days ago I received a similar e-mail. He claims he's got a domain which he offers for $99, while I can order the same domain at other registrars for less than $15.
If this guy pisses you off, why don't you give him a phone call and tell him what kind of a**hole he is. His address and phonenumber can be easily found. Just lookup the domain domainsalertservice.com on the website http://whois.net.
He lives in Montreal Canada, and despite he is a native canadian-french speaker he speaks english very well.
Posted by: Bart Stam | July 11, 2008 at 14:43
I just got an email from this maggot, is there anything people SHOULD do? I'm inclined to leave the message in my spam folder but it feels wrong..
I'll email the people I paid for my domain and check this spot for updates... This guy should apply to SCO, prolly can use another worm there..
Posted by: Michael Reece | July 03, 2008 at 20:59
I just received one of these spams, and it turns out he *has* actually registered the corresponding dot com. This is disgusting ... I wonder if he obtained the start up cash to actually purchase domain names for squatting, by merely sending out emails claiming he had. I'm not really that familiar with ICANN rules and procedures and so forth, but I am entirely open to suggestions on how to pursue this.
Posted by: mintwood | July 03, 2008 at 17:49
I just reported him to Enom as well. Thanks for the link.
Posted by: Mobiledb | July 02, 2008 at 11:22
i got an email from this jack*ss as well and sure enough, the .com url was still available.
i'm going to email enom as the person above suggested. this guy needs to be shut down!
Posted by: e-styles | July 01, 2008 at 10:24
I got one of this guys spams too, and you guys are right, he is a liar, the domain is still available.
Thanks!
Posted by: Jeff DeWitt | June 26, 2008 at 04:01
The top level domain for "people" is .name - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.name
Posted by: Mike Riversdale | June 21, 2008 at 05:33
I received a similar "blackmailish" email from Daniel Kagan of Domains Alert Service. I also checked, and discovered that he had not actually obtained the domain name as he had claimed. If he had, his behavior would have been strictly against ICANN rules, and we could shut him down rather easily. However, there are still things that you can do.
The ICANN Registrar for his domain, www.domainsalertservice.com, is ENOM, INC. at www.enom.com. You can go to their website and register a complaint on their webform. It will be most effective if you give them both the headers and the contents (as HTML) of the email that you received.
Creative cussing might make you feel better, but is unlikely to affect Dan Kagan quite as much as the possibility of shutting down his website. Have fun.
Posted by: CW Ingalls | June 21, 2008 at 01:43
I received an identical email from this bottom-feeder as well. After first considering a response similar to yours, I checked the availability of the URL which he is trying to sell me. HE LIES ... he has not "obtained" the .com version of my .net URL. He is clearly casting a very wide net, and to actually purchase all those .com domains would be cost prohibitive. I was very tempted to send him a reply offering to sell him my .net URL, but I know that it would be a waste of my time.
Posted by: Fly by Night Sailor | June 20, 2008 at 04:07
I have received one of these emails as well, stating that he had the .com, but that I should be the one who has it.
"But, as you are the owner of .net, we first decided to let you know of an opportunity to acquire this valuable .COM."
Posted by: Blade | June 19, 2008 at 19:56