I've just recently bought the domain name clairejulia.net for my baby daughter. I'm not a big fan of people using .com as it implies they're a corporation, also for individuals a .co.uk suffix suggests they're a UK company. Thus, I prefer .net for individuals (despite it originally being for network infrastructures). To me, clairejulia.net implies "Claire Julia on the Internet". Actually, I think ICANN should release .web for personal URLs, but that's another story.
So, this week I received a SPAM email from a Dan Kagan of Domains Alert Service informing me that his company have "acquired" clairejulia.com for their company's "development plans", but as the owner of clairejulia.net they would allow me the "opportunity to acquire" it from them for $99.
Clearly, this company scours the domain registries searching for domains where there are are other TLD variations available, then snap them up and hold them to ransom.
Well, I don't want to respond to this email and thus encourage his spamming, so in case Daniel Kagan is ever egosurfing, here's my response:
Dear Daniel
Stick clairejulia.com up your f*cking arse you cybersquatting, blackmailing, scum-sucking, bottom-feeding, spamming c*nt.
I hope your low-rent business fails and you lose everything.
Kind regards
The owner of clairejulia.net
Recent Comments